Testimonials

Customer Reviews for Our Real Estate Services

We strive to provide outstanding service, always; but nothing we say can ever speak as well or with as much authority as our past clients, so here are a few comments from recent clients:

Kayla Knapp

Buyer in Newport News, VA - August 8, 2022

My fiancé and I were first time home buyers and did not know what to expect going into it. Sherry is VERY helpful and reassuring. Even though the market is crazy right now she went above and beyond for us making sure we found the perfect house for us! I’m so thankful for Sherry and Sam. I definitely know who I will be calling when we want to sell our house and buy a new one, best realtor ever!

Janet Lowry

Seller in Yorktown, VA - August 2, 2022

Sam and his team were terrific. He kept me in the loop of any progress and gave great advice. I appreciate all of you.

Stephanie Fang

Buyer in Hampton, VA - July 5, 2022

Sam is such a professional, knowledgeable and smart agent to be working 100% on our side when purchasing a recent vacation home. Such a pleasure to have worked with Sam. Highly recommend!

Mike M

Seller in Hampton, VA - July 5, 2022

Nothing but the highest praise for Sam and Sherry Martin. Every step of the sales process was done with the highest degree of professionalism. They responded to every call, text or email within minutes. Provided expert advice based on deep local knowledge. This is the only team to consider when buying or selling!

Lawrence Armstrong

Seller in Newport News, VA - April 25, 2022

We were very impressed with the advice you gave us regarding the list price, carpet replacement, and interior painting. Your years of experience and top rating within Abbitt Realty shone through. Thanks for all that you did to make the sale of Unit 4A, Windward Towers a success.

Andrew Cloud

Seller in Newport News, VA - April 18, 2022

Amazing experience from start to finish. We worked closely with Sam Martin and his team to list and sell two properties. I would recommend Abbitt Realty to anyone looking to list or buy a home. Professional, knowledgeable, and always available.

Paul Cisterino

Seller in Seaford, VA - January 17, 2022

We were pleased in every way with how Mr. Martin sold our house for us. He gave us good advice beginning in spring of 2019 when we first contacted him, and maintained steady periodic contact until Fall of 2021 when we finally were able to sell. He gave us a number of valuable suggestions on how to improve our house, which we incorporated into the renovations we did. When we finally got the house on the market, he priced it at a level satisfactory to us, but not high enough to be off-putting. The proof of this was that over the course of a single weekend, we had ten parties who viewed the house, six of whom made offers, none of them less than the listing price. The offers were a somewhat confusing mix of loan types, down payment amounts and contingencies, and Sam was great in explaining the advantages and disadvantages of each of the offers in real time as they came in. By the time the final offer came in, we were well-educated in which one was the obvious one to accept.
So, Mr. Martin gets highest marks for us in all categories, whatever they are. Had we another house in Virginia to sell, we would for sure pick him to sell it, and would recommend him to anybody with no reservations.

John & Kristen Ware

Sellers and Buyers in Hampton/Newport News, VA - January 13, 2022

Working with Sam and Sherry Martin in association with Abbitt Realty Co. was a great experience from start to finish! We worked with Sherry 8 years ago with the purchase of our first home and knew that we would work with them again this time around for our next home. Sam helped us get our house sold quickly and Sherry was so patient with us as we navigated the ups and downs of the current real estate market and secured our new home. They are kind, attentive, and always willing to help you through either process. If you want the best help around - contact them!

Lanny Bowman

Seller in Hampton, VA - October 7, 2021

By far this is the best experience we have ever had when buying/selling a home. Sam and his teammate Robin were so professional and kind; really knowledgeable about the process; kept things moving toward closing at a perfect pace; continually contacted us with status updates; and we closed on time! And, to top it off, they were both a joy to work with. They are an incredible team, but even more, they are great people. Without reservation, I recommend the Martin team if you are looking to buy or sell a home. It will be a rewarding experience.

Sydney Thomas

Buyer in Hampton, VA - July 12, 2021

Sherry Martin was an amazing partner in our search for a new home. She asked great questions and helped us navigate through what is a complicated process in this crazy real estate market. She makes it looks easy and we know it is not! Sherry kept everyone moving forward and made sure we were represented in a way that ensured our goals were met- a great home in a great place at a sane price! I have recommended Sherry and Abbitt to everyone! As a bonus, she is also just the nicest person. 

Sean

Buyer – Yorktown, VA | 31 January 2021

Sherry and Sam Martin at Abbitt Realty Co. Great company for buying a home. Their team is always professional and willing to help you through the whole process of finding that next home. I truly felt like they cared when it came to finding the right home and making the right offer.

Jeremy Saenz

Buyer – Hampton Roads, VA | 28 January 2021

Sherry Martin was absolutely fantastic. She was extremely in-tune with our family’s needs and was incredibly responsive to any concerns or questions we had. We will 100% be working with her again!

David Hester

Seller – Poquoson, VA | 20 October 2020

During a very challenging time with the pandemic situation, Abbitt professionals were fast, efficient and thoroughly professional throughout the property transfer process.

Sam Martin made things go as smoothly as possible. Big thank you to him and his staff.

Gedeon

Seller – Tidewater, VA | 26 August 2020

Full-service real estate experts! Answered ALL questions and inquiries in a very timely manner, provided excellent advice on negotiating necessary repairs vice aesthetic/frivolous asks, and even assisted in finding and scheduling service professionals for various repairs (HVAC and plumbing). Sam also spent the time to educate us on which repairs required a general or specific contractor vice a handyman and negotiate the appropriate request; saving us thousands of dollars.

Sam was always aware of what step of the process we were in and followed up/tracked status–we never felt lost-in-the-shuffle or like we were one-of-many clients.

Cristin Flanders

Seller – Newport News, VA | 20 February 2020

We worked with Sam Martin to sell our house and couldn’t be happier. With his help, our house had an offer (which we accepted) the first day it was on the market. We were first-time sellers and Sam was there making sure things went smoothly every step of the way.

I would highly (highly!) recommend Sam Martin for anyone trying to sell a home in the greater Hampton Roads area.

Teri & Scott Miller

Seller – Hampton Roads, VA | 14 February 2020

We love this team! They worked super hard on our behalf and gave us tons of insightful direction. Bought from them when we moved into the Hampton Roads area 6 yrs ago, they were our first choice when we were ready to sell this year. Wise choice! They walked us through our process, and we sold in 3 months! Can’t recommend them enough.

Good folks, great realtors!

Susan

Buyer – Williamsburg, VA | 14 January 2020

Working with Sherry was amazing. She came highly recommended by many friends and still managed to exceed our expectations. She is very thorough both with what we should expect as first-time home buyers as well as when it came to pointing out the positives and negatives of every house we viewed. She was in constant contact with us and was happy to answer any question we had. We were especially grateful to have her on our side when our mortgage company messed up the closing paperwork and wanted to move closing back. She was cool under pressure, was able to get everything straightened out, and turned what could have been a major disaster into a minor hiccup.

Faith Freeman

Buyer – Hampton Roads, VA | 13 November 2019

Sherry went above and beyond to make certain that my Mom and I have the best home that we love. My Mom and I consider Sherry and Sam our new family. They have a great business and personal mannerism that Shines Through and through. Abbitt Realtors is #1 in my book. Thank you, Sherry and Sam!

Jim David

Seller – Hampton Roads, VA | 4 November 2019

Had to sell a house that had been rented for most of the last decade. No longer lived in VA, so doing everything absentee. Sam was my realtor on the sale. Along with Robin in the office, this team was attentive, responsive, and easy to work with. It can be hard work to sell a house and it’s important that you get the right help to direct your efforts in the most efficient way possible. These folks excel at exactly that.

Chris Hamilton

Seller – James Landing, Newport News VA | 19 September 2018

I would give Abbitt and our realtor, Sam Martin, 10 stars if I could. Sam went way above and beyond on multiple occasions to help get our house sold. If you want a superb professional realtor, call Sam Martin and Abbitt Realty.

Shawn Hoeflich

Seller – Newport News, VA | 16 September 2018

Sam and Sherry Martin are the best! We bought and sold homes with them multiple times, and each time is a seamless amazing process! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Carol Davis

Seller – York County VA | 30 July 2018

You will find no better realtors in Hampton Roads than Sam and Sherry Martin! They use the latest in technology and social media to get maximum exposure for your property and combine that with the care and attention of a family member to serve your best interests. We couldn’t be more pleased with the results!

Charles Adkins

Buyer – Newport News VA | 27 July 2018

Sherry Martin was an absolute professional! Would highly recommend her services. Always available and truly catered to my needs as a homebuyer. Sherry demonstrated exceptional knowledge during every stage of the process from start to finish.

Geneva Perry

Seller | 29 March 2018

I was appointed the administrator of a decedent’s estate that included the sale of real estate. Sam and Sherry Martin were already involved as agents for the estate and I couldn’t have been more pleased. They were prompt in conveying offers, giving guidance on the market, and answering my questions along the way.

Dave Austin

Buyer – Hampton Roads VA | 01 March 2018

Sherry was recommended to us through our VA lender. What a lucky break for us! Working with Sam and Sherry was, by far, THE best real estate experience we’ve ever had. They are so professional and knowledgeable about every aspect of the deal. Sam and Sherry were very patient with my (seemingly) never-ending stream of inquiries and helped us navigate through every obstacle along the way and avoiding potential pitfalls that may have otherwise been trouble. They truly put their personal touch into the deal. We would highly recommend them to anyone without a moment’s hesitation. We started out with an agent and ended up with new friends! Thank you, Sam and Sherry, for helping us find our forever home!

David Crute

Seller – Hampton Roads VA & Buyer – Newport News VA | 28 January 2018

Helped me buy my first house, helped my Father and I sell our business before he passed, helped me sell my first house, and helped me and my soon-to-be wife but our first house all in a very short period of time while making sure EVERYTHING is taken care of during the stressful process of buying and selling, they are the best!!!!

Kristen Fitsimmons

Buyer – Newport News VA | 16 January 2018

We truly can’t even put into words how much we enjoyed and appreciated working with Sam, Sherry and their assistant Robin on the purchase of our very first home. From the very beginning of the process until now (a month after buying our house), we enjoyed every second we get to work with them. They are all so friendly, warm, personable and truly have our best interest in mind. Sam and Sherry made us feel appreciated and we trust them wholeheartedly! They patiently answered questions, offered advice and walked us through a simple and enjoyable process. We truly can’t thank them enough for what they have done for us. They made this by far one of the best experiences of our lives to date! From the bottom of our hearts, we will be forever grateful to them!

Heather Brockwell

Sherry was wonderful! This was my first time buying a home and Sherry walked me through every step. She is very knowledgeable and definitely goes above and beyond!

Elaine Pridgen

Sherry and Sam are a great team and helped my family find our new home! She listened and understood all our needs and worked hard to find the perfect home. Sherry is an expert in her field and was always available to see a house, answer questions, and guide us on our pursuit. Without the efforts and knowledge of Sherry and Sam, we would not be in our new house today!

Brenda Lackey

After taking the house off the market due to no interest, Sam contacted me and indicated he would be able to sell it quickly. The first agent had the house for a year and there were VERY few people to even look at it. Sam visited the house, made a couple of good suggestions of inexpensive improvements that we should make, had a person who was able to do the work for us, and within a short time the house was sold. We are living 3 hours away and Sam was great about keeping in touch and taking care of the details. We are very grateful to him for his efforts.

Matt Mcloud

As a first-time homebuyer, I didn’t have much knowledge of the process at all. I worked directly with Sherry from start to finish on locating potential properties to the closing within 6 weeks. Sherry literally took on every aspect of the home buying process and all I had to do was sign at closing. She is a very honest and hardworking individual that will always have your best interest. Hopefully, I will have the opportunity to utilize her in the future.